Announcing Winners of the 2016

Just For Laughs Awards

Kevin Hart Presents LOL Live

And the lineup of the Mega Stars of Comedy Gala


Aziz Ansari: Comedy Person of the Year

Sebastian Maniscalco: Stand-Up Comedian of the Year

Maria Bamford: Breakout Comedy Star of the Year

Mike Judge and Alec Berg (Silicon Valley): Comedy Writers of the Year


Montreal, July 12, 2016 – The Just For Laughs Festival, presented by Videotron in association with Loto-Québec is thrilled to announce the recipients of the Just For Laughs Awards Show presented by Air Canada, Kevin Hart Presents LOL Live, and the lineup of the Mega Stars of Comedy Gala, a Videotron Gala presented by Air Canada.

And the winners are…

Writer, actor, director and one of the biggest stars in comedy today, Aziz Ansari is this year’s Just For Laughs Comedy Person of the Year, heading a star-studded list that includes Sebastian Maniscalco, Maria Bamford, Mike Judge and Alec Berg. All five will receive their awards at the Just For Laughs Awards Show, presented by Air Canada and hosted by JB Smoove, on Friday, July 29 at 4:30 pm in the Grand Salon Opera, Hyatt Regency Montreal, part of JFL ComedyPRO.

Announcing Kevin Hart Presents LOL Live at JFLMTL

And there will no doubt be more than a few future Awards Show contenders on hand at Kevin Hart Presents LOL Live, a six-night event showcasing some of the best comedians from around the world and appearing at the Just For Laughs Festival. It will be filmed exclusively for Hart’s new digital Laugh Out Loud Network, a video-on-demand service which offers viewers exclusive curated content. With 12 unique filmed performances over six nights in an intimate venue, ticket holders will get an up close and personal experience. Catch them all from July 26-31, 7:00 pm and 10:00 pm, at Théatre Berri. Speaking of unique performances…

Mega Stars of Comedy Gala lineup announced

With so many amazing acts coming to Just For Laughs, it’s impossible to see them all… but not anymore thanks to the Mega Stars of Comedy Gala! This one-of-a-kind Videotron Gala presented by Air Canada features world-class headliners including Scottish funny man Danny Bhoy, king of the rant Lewis Black, Curb Your Enthusiasm’s JB Smoove, Canadian favourite Gerry Dee, Whose Line is It Anyway?’s Greg Proops, and more to be announced. Catch these mega stars performing on a single night, July 30 at 7:00 pm, at Salle Wilfrid-Pelletier in Place des Arts.

Tickets on sale now at



The 34th edition of the Just For Laughs Festival will also include: Julia Louis-Dreyfus,

P.K. Subban, Seth Rogen, Aziz Ansari, Nathan Lane, Jeff Goldblum, Sebastian Maniscalco, Carrie Fisher, David Cross, Lewis Black, Jeff Ross presents Roast Battle, Howie Mandel, Russell Peters, Oh, Hello starring Nick Kroll and John Mulaney, Sarah Silverman, Hannibal Buress, Jeremy Hotz, Brian Regan, Maria Bamford, Gad Elmaleh, Jimmy Carr, Russell Howard, Iliza Shlesinger, Kathleen Madigan, Colin Mochrie, Asad Mecci, Brad Sherwood, Nikki Glaser, Jay Pharoah, Grace Helbig, Mamrie Hart, George Wallace, Dan Harmon, Scott Aukerman, Paul F. Tompkins, Lauren Lapkus, Mark Watson, Russell Kane, Tiff Stevenson, Rachid Badouri, Dom Irrera, Godfrey, Jessica Kirson, Blake Griffin, Gina Brillon, Yannis Pappas, Mike Ward, Bobby Slayton, Brad Williams, Ralphie May, Tony Hale, Timothy Simons, David Mandel, Alan Carr, Tom Green, Janeane Garofalo, Mary Lynn Rajskub, Adam Hills, Andy Dick, Tommy Johnagin, Eugene Mirman, Nick Thune, Steve Rannazzisi, Scott Thompson, Kurt Metzger, Joe Mande, The Lucas Bros., Big Jay Oakerson, Barry Crimmins, Louie Anderson, Emo Philips, Piff The Magic Dragon, Beth Stelling, Michelle Wolf, Todd Barry, Greg Behrendt, Aparna Nancherla, Ryan Hamilton, Lil Rel Howery, Mike O’Brien, Ian Abramson, James Davis, Jermaine Fowler, Mark Normand, Tone Bell, Matt Braunger, Ari Shaffir, Andy Kindler, Anthony Atamanuik, Cameron Esposito, Daniel Sloss, Derek Seguin, Jackie Kashian, James Adomian, Josh Adam Meyers, Katherine Ryan, Finesse Mitchell, Corrine Fisher, Krystyna Hutchinson, Stuart Goldsmith, Barry Katz and more!

The Just For Laughs Festival runs from July 13 to August 1, 2016 in Montreal, Canada.

JFL ComedyPRO runs from July 27-30, 2016 at the Hyatt Regency Montreal, Canada.


Facebook, Twitter, Instagram: @justforlaughs

The Just For Laughs Festival presented by Videotron in association with Loto-Québec would like to thank its public partners: Gouvernement du Québec, Government of Canada, City of Montréal and Tourisme Montréal.



For tickets by phone, online or in person:
The Just For Laughs Box Office, 514-845-2322, presented by Videotron

Press contacts:
Jamie O’Meara
Just For Laughs Festival

Julie Giles

About the Just For Laughs Group
Founded in 1983, the Just For Laughs Group has had but one goal in its 30-plus years of operation: Make People Happy. To achieve this goal, the Just For Laughs Group has focused on four major products: Festivals in Montreal, Toronto, Vancouver and Sydney; television production including Gags seen in over 130 countries and on over 75 airlines and stand-up specials; live shows, such as Canadian tour dates for Jerry Seinfeld, Louis C.K., Jim Gaffigan and the Just For Laughs Comedy Tour; and talent management. The Just For Laughs Montreal Comedy Festival is the world’s largest and most prestigious comedy event welcoming on average 1.35 million visitors to Montreal each summer and generating approximately $80 million for the city’s economy. The Group has offices in Montreal, Paris, Los Angeles, Toronto, London and they are all connected to each other via internet.